(Sittin’ at) The Dock in Pascagoula

IMG_6690.JPG

On Monday I flew from Oregon to Mississippi to join the crew of the NOAA ship Gordon Gunter on their transit up to New England. Up north the crew will be assisting scientists from the Northeast Fisheries Science Center in surveying North Atlantic Right Whales. While I (sadly) won’t be staying on the ship for that project, I’m onboard to service two of the Noise Reference Station moorings along our route. The first station is in the Gulf of Mexico (NRS06) and the second is off the east coast of Florida (NRS07).

We were supposed to leave the dock yesterday, but due to some issues with a water tank we are delayed. Since there isn’t much to do on the abandoned Navy base where the Gunter is tied up, I re-wrote the lyrics of an Otis Redding classic to express my feelings about the situation…

Sittin’ in the morning sun
I’ll be sittin’ when the evening comes
Waiting until the water tank is fixed
And we can finally leave the dock, yeah

I’m sittin’ at the dock in Pascagoula
Watchin’ the clouds roll away, ooh
I’m sittin’ at the dock in Pascagoula
(Trying not to) waste time

I left my home in Oregon
Headed for a ship in the Gulf
Cuz these moorings won’t deploy themselves
And I was the person for the job

But I’m just gon’ sit at the dock in Pascagoula
Until the engineers to fix the tank, ooh
I’m sittin’ at the dock in Pascagoula
Trying to work on my thesis

Looks like nothing’s gonna change (today)
Everything still remains the same (broken)
I can’t do what I came here to do
So I guess I’ll just organize my gear on deck 

Sittin’ here hunting for snacks and wifi
And not having much luck with either, listen
Two thousand six hundred and seventy-two miles I traveled
And still a few thousand to go (but not today) 

So, I’m just gon’ sit at the dock in Pascagoula
Maybe I should go for a run or something…
(Just to take a break from) sittin’ at the dock in Pascagoula
…hopefully we’ll be on our way soon

If you are curious, once we leave the dock you can track our travel here.

One thought on “(Sittin’ at) The Dock in Pascagoula

Leave a Reply

